back to
Intakt Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    You will get the CD-booklet (as PDF-file) with liner notes and photos as bonus, if you buy the whole album.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $9.80 USD  or more


stalden 06:22
to the light 08:38
knabautsch 04:26
hmmm 07:17
iuk 05:37
shi 05:20
the wheel 08:32


Intakt CD 274

Acclaimed swiss pianist and composer stefan aeby presents with his trio his debut on intakt records as a bandleader. his excellent new album "to the light" with bass player andré Pousaz and drummer Michi stulz has a clear, unique identity. the trio follows a free vision of minimal sound art, leaving space and time to react to each other, and to revel in the sounds.

Florian Keller writes in the liner notes: "to build their multi-layered sound architecture, these three music fanatics avoid the weight of the monumental, instead using their atmospheric musicianship to create a soundtrack for the poetry of the unobtrusive. the magic of this expansive music lies in a courageous aesthetic of modesty, which favours fine-fingered sensitivity over the muscular gestures of musical high-performance sport, and thus a statement against the thundering excesses of spectacle. yet this graceful sonic art is indeed spectacular in its filigree way. Unpretentiously, the trio have cultivated a kind of gallant tiptoe. the principle is to play softly and generate tension walking on velvet paws. this urgent ensemble music often creates its magic through a calmness bordering on silence."



released October 10, 2016

Stefan Aeby: Piano
André Pousaz: Double Bass
Michi Stulz: Drums

All compositions by Stefan Aeby (SUISA), except nr. 8 by André Pousaz (SUISA). Recorded on november 19 and 20, 2015, at idee und klang studio, Basel, by Daniel Dettwiler and Benjamin Gut. Tracking by Benjamin Gut. Mixed and mastered by Daniel Dettwiler. Liner notes: Florian Keller. Photo: Stéphanie Borcard and Nicolas Métraux. Cover art: Romano P. Riedo. Graphic design: Jonas Schoder. Produced by Stefan Aeby and Intakt Records, Patrik Landolt. Published by Intakt Records.


all rights reserved



Stefan Aeby Fribourg, Switzerland

contact / help

Contact Stefan Aeby

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like to the light, you may also like: